abma.x-maru.org Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile

Rogers Newsgroup Servers

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    abma.x-maru.org Forum Index -> Newsgroups Misc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Shezy

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2002 9:35 pm    Post subject: Rogers Newsgroup Servers Reply with quote

Okay, am I the only one? I'm starting to panic here, because yesterday I could only download from one server, and today none of the servers are working! NewsBin is not telling me why, but I know it's not because I've hit my limit (nothing really caught my attention recently, other than RahXephon). Oh, I'm in Toronto, if it makes a difference... Hmmm, cool looking emoticons...

Shezy Crying or Very sad

PS - I'm kinda new to this... What's BBCode?
Neuralblastoma

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2002 10:13 pm    Post subject: Rogers servers Reply with quote

DON'T PANIC! <-----large friendly letters

You have the server name in your newsreader as 'nntp' and not 'news' right? If it's on news still change it to nntp.

Rogers has improved the server much in the past week. Retention is now about three days and completion is excellent. Better than @home's completion ever was. The only problem left is speed which is still pretty slow. I called them today and they're working on it. There's no estimated time for when the speed problem will be solved but it will be eventually.

I'm in Ottawa, but your being in Toronto shouldn't mean anything. I know it works in Toronto because earthdark is there and we've talked about it in #AnimeMPEG.